RobotStudio event

Device net master slave configuration

Hello all,

I am new to devicenet master slave configuration. PLC is my master and Robot is my slave ( irc5 compact controller ). can anyone share how to configure BUS,UNIT and signal in robot ?? Options installed in robot as follows, 709-1 Master slave / Single , 748 - Devicenet lean. Please reply ASAP.
thanks in advance!!!
Tagged:

Comments

• Hi,

The following is the example how we define in the EIO.Config files:

EIO_BUS:

-Name "DeviceNet1" -BusType "DNET" -ConnectorID "PCI1"\

-ConnectorLabel "First DeviceNet"

EIO_UNIT_TYPE:

-Name "d352A" -BusType "DNET" -VendorName "ABB Robotics"\

-ProductName "PBUS Adapter" -DN_VendorId 75 -DN_ProductCode 8\

-DN_DeviceType 7 -DN_MajorRev 1 -DN_ExplicitMsgEnabled -DN_C1Type "COS"\

-DN_C1OutputSize 8 -DN_C1InputSize 8

EIO_UNIT:

-Name "Profibus_Gateway" -UnitType "d352A" -Bus "DeviceNet1"\

-DN_Address 10

EIO_SIGNAL: -Name "c1Position" -SignalType "AI" -Unit "Qtrack1" -UnitMap "0-31"\ -MaxLog 21474.8 -MaxPhys 1 -MaxPhysLimit 1 -MaxBitVal 2147483647\ -MinLog -21474.8 -MinPhys -1 -MinPhysLimit -1 -MinBitVal -2147483647

• suganthyadav
    edited July 2017
    thanks for the reply. But it's not communicating. :( 
  • The compact controller will have the DeviceNet master already setup probably address 2 - this becomes the slave address also.

You need to add a slave device type (from the drop down box if using RobotStudio to configure the I/O) and set the input and output word size to match the PLC (max 64, default is 8).

Restart the controller for the changes to take effect.

Then the depending on the PLC type it will be able to scan the network and find the controller slave unit - or you may need to load an EDS file which is in the RobotWare download.

The exact procedure depends on the RobotWare version you are using -  RW6 or RW5.

If you are still having trouble post the version and I can attach the relevant pages from the manual.

• suganthyadav