RobotStudio event

Defining a TCP with an off centre mounted tool

Hi all,
I'm pretty new to ABB robots.
I am currently working on my 3rd ABB robot and am struggling with integrated vision accuracy.

There is a robot mounted gripper that will pick up fittings from a tray from fixed points. After the fitting has been delivered to a machine gripper, the vision looks for a cap in a separate tray. The camera is robot mounted and uses a suction cup mounted on the side of the gripper to pick up a cap. Everything works apart from the suction cup accuracy varies when picking a cap. This needs to be dead centre every time. I am using Pat Max 1-10 and is detecting the centre of the cap without a problem. The coordinates also seem to match with the camera coordinates.

I have carried out several camera/TCP calibrations and get the same results every time. I'm now think it might be how I'm defining the tool. I have separate tool frames for the gripper (Central to tools mounting flange) and a tool frame for the sucker (About 50mm off-centre from the gripper). 

I have defined the gripper TCP using a gripper mounted pointer and a point at a fixed point on the machine. The sucker I have done the same replacing the suction cup with a pointer and referenced to the same fixed machine pointer.

Because the suction cup is not central to the flange, axis 6 will completely change the centre point of the suction cup, so I carried out a 9-point method and making sure axis 6 was rotated for at least 4 of the points. I used TCP (default orient.) method, but looking in the manual I see this is set the orientation the same as the orientation of the robot’s mounting plate. So I assume this will not work.

Anyone got any ideas on how to define an off-centre tool.

Many thanks for any help

Dave

Answers

• I notice you say the suction cup accuracy varies - do you mean by this that the pick position on the cap is varying?