RobotStudio event

Copy entire robot to new robot

Alright so I am a newbie here. This seems like it should be easy but I have having some issues. My company is making 4 of the exact same machines for a client with one ABB IRB1600 per machine. I have programed and debugged the first machine with the intentions of just doing a back up on that robot and loading it into the others and then would just have to reteach my work object and verify points and it should be good. 

The issue I am having is that when I restore from the back up of the first robot it has me update the rev counter no big deal. However when I go to do that it gives me an error saying that the serial numbers do not match. My assumption is that doing a restore from the first robot is copying the serial number too. 

Is there a way to do a complete copy of the first robot and load it in not just my programs but my I/O's rob targets and entire configuration? 

I apologize if this is a very basic question. I've only been working with robots for about 3 months. 

Comments

• lemster68
    lemster68 ✭✭✭
    edited February 2023
    Restoring a robot, especially a new robot, is not a good idea. You have already seen that you get the serial number mismatch. The calibration offsets that overwrite each "restored" will create major headache in the near or not-so-near future. No one but you will know why the numbers don't match. But you didn't know that yet. Every robot will have its own calibration offsets, and it would be a greater than one in a million chance that any two matched exactly. Those numbers are very important to the robots positioning. If they are wrong, you will not be able to teach accurate tcp's and linear jogging can and probably will be adversely affected.