RobotStudio event

Direct Robot Communication

Hi Team,
is there a way have an Robot to Robot Communication without PLC interaction? Like sending Position or status between. I have couple of IRB5400 and some signals for Safety are needed that doesnt need be send to PLC.
All robots connected to ethernet.

Answers

• Hi PeterPan,

I'm not sure what controller you are using, 
    but for IRC5 there is a manual called "Application manual - EtherNet/IP Scanner/Adapter"
    and on pages 58/59 it gives an overview of how to do this with links to pages with specific detail. 
    I've got no experience with this; hopefully it's what you are looking for.
    Regards,

Harry
  • We did once something like this with Device Net (Master/Slave). Both robot had an own net, both were connected. This way you could define output signal which appeared as inputs on the other robot with same mapping.

EIO_BUS:
          -Name "DeviceNet1" -BusType "DNET" -ConnectorID "PCI1"\
          -ConnectorLabel "First DeviceNet"
    #
    EIO_UNIT_TYPE:
    -Name "DN_SLAVE" -BusType "DNET" -VendorName "ABB Robotics" -DN_VendorId 8\
          -DN_ProductCode 12 -DN_DeviceType 12 -DN_ExplicitMsgEnabled \
          -DN_C1Interval 50 -DN_C1OutputSize 64 -DN_C1InputSize 64
    #
    EIO_UNIT:
          -Name "RobA_Unit_on_B" -UnitType "DN_SLAVE" -Bus "DeviceNet1"\
          -DN_Address 3
    #
    EIO_SIGNAL:
      -Name "Rob1pos" -SignalType "GO" -Unit "RobA_Unit_on_B"\
          -SignalLabel "Pos. Gantry 1 to Gantry 2" -UnitMap "0-24" -Access "Default"
       -Name "diRob2ReqPark" -SignalType "DI" -Unit "RobA_Unit_on_B"\
          -SignalLabel "Rob2 is requesting park permission" -UnitMap "25"\
          -Access "Default"

(example is old, and syntax may have changed)
    Maybe there something similar with Ethernet Adapter ?

• matti said: