RobotStudio event

Robot recovery

Options
Alright so I am still a newbie and this is my first dive into robot recovery. I have a machine that I've written a program for that makes the robot move in the positive z position to a specified height. I have been able to use this as my recovery program as it can get out of almost any situation by making this move. However The robot does a tool change and during this tool change if the robot was to z up it would crash and damage equipment. I know it is asking a lot but I am not sure where to start with coming up with some sort of recovery in case there is a crash or e-stop during tool change. right now I am using a offset in both the y and z directions to place the tool on the rack. Any help or any point in the right direction would be greatly apricated. Thank you all in advance.  

Comments

• lemster68
    lemster68 ✭✭✭
    Options
    You can create a world zone which would encompass the area in which the tool gets changed.  Make a virtual output to turn on when inside that zone.  In your recovery you can see if that output is on and act accordingly.  When you say that you are offsetting in y and z, it sounds to me that you might want to consider using a reltool motion.
    Lee Justice
  • deltaplex15
    Options
    So the tool has a bracket on it with two holes on the top and about 2 in down it has a pin the holes line up with two pins on the rack and the pin on the tool goes into a hole on the mount. On top of that below the mount there are sensors that will slap the mount if I go straight up so I have to go 25mm in the z direction then I currently go 200mm in the y direction to clear the mount. I will have to look into what reltool does and see if I can use it. one of the tools dock has the reject bin right above it too so I have to do the same little dance with that one too. I have the  tool change program written and all proved out as of now minus the recovery.