RobotStudio event

Program file saving manipulation and proper file directory architecture

Greetings!
I am new to ABB robot programming, and I am having issues. I need guidance on the proper way saving files and directory set-up. We have a new robot installed (IRB 2600) and created a new program. No issues with our very first program. Run perfectly well. But when I decided to create a new program by doing "save as" to copy and create. My dilemma started when I assign new motion positions on the newly created program on a new folder, I noticed a sub folder was automatically created on the first program folder with the same file name and the new positions I just created for the second program. I do not want my operators to be confused so I manually moved the unwanted folder on a "Do not use" folder. Am I doing the process wrong or something I do not understand regarding the program configuration particular to the motion instructions being Local or Global or Routines or Task Programs being shared. frowning_face Thanks in advance and appreciate your responses

Robot Info:
IRB2600
RobotWare Version

Regards,
Engr535

Best Answers

• graemepaulin
    Answer ✓
    Saving a program creates a top level folder with the program name, under this are the module files (*.mod) and a file with the 'program name'.pgf.
    If you 'save as' a new top level folder will be created and the *.pgf file name within it will change but the module names will remain the same (any modified positions will the new ones). 
    When you load program the modules will be reloaded (including the modified positions within it), this will overwrite the modules currently loaded (and the positions).
    If you continue to modify things in the new program after the initial save as you will need to save it again (overwrite the currently saved program with the new name) so you save the modifications.

Hope that makes sense.
  • graemepaulin
    Answer ✓