RobotStudio event

Using data across forms

Options

Hello,

I'm quite new at RAB and, admittedly, VS2005.  I am currently facing a problem that doesn't seem to have much information and would greatly appreciate any help on the subject.

Basically, I'm testing out RAB and the different functionalities it offers, and have just created my first "second view".  I would now like to use data that I have gathered from the controller already in my new screen, but I'm always facing the same problem: The name "stringname" does not exist in the current context.

So my question is, how do I use .NET data across forms without having to go read it from the controller every time I switch forms?

Comments

• RussD
    Options

A couple of approaches would include making the scope of your variable declarations Public so that they are global within your application or you can pass particular variables or objects into the constructor of your "second view".

These questions aren't really unique to RAB howver, so you might want to loook at some of them many online resources that would cover these topics in a more general way as a supplement.

Russell Drown
  • ATess
    Options

Here is roughly what I did.  It does compile, and it doesn't generate an error when I run the program.  But... the text is never displayed, so I'm guessing there's an error SOMEWHERE!
    I feel like I'm so close to the goal, please guide me.
    public
    class view2 : TpsForm
    {
    private ABB.Robotics.Tps.Windows.Forms.MenuItem menuItem1;

private System.ComponentModel.IContainer components = null;
    private TpsViewMainScreen _view1;
    string stThisIsText;
    public view2()
    {
    InitializeComponent();
    _view1 =
    new TpsViewMainScreen();
    menuItem1.Click +=
    new EventHandler(menuItem1_Click);
    stThisIsText = _view1.stThisIsText;
    this.Text = "Menu name: " + stThisIsText;
    }
  • RussD
    Options