RobotStudio event

Changing Smart Component Properties from RAPID

Options

I'm just starting out with using Smart Components in RS, and I have a question I haven't been able to find an answer to on the forum and using google. Say I create a
parametric cylinder" smart component. It has a property called "height". How would I go about changing this property from within a RAPID code? Can I access it as a variable somehow? I haven't found a way to do it directly, but I did notice a "converter" smart component, so what I attempted to do is set up an analog signal called "height" which links to the analog input of the converter, which links to the "height" property of the parametric cylinder. The problem is that from within RAPID it seems like you can only set values of analog outputs, not inputs, so I'm stuck. Any help/references would be greatly appreciated!

EDIT:
So I think I figured out the next step - I made a new analog output in the controller setup and linked it to the analog input of the converter smart component via the station logic menu. Now the problem is, when I update the value of the new analog output within a RAPID code, the analog output variable  changes when I go to Controller -> Inputs/Outputs, but the analog input in the smart components to which it is now linked does not update! It stays at the default value, no matter what the corresponding digital output's value is.
robots4life2013-02-04 21:27:57

Comments

• Anders S
    Options
    Hi,
    To connect an Analog Output or a Group Output from a Virtual Controller to a Smart Components Analog or Group Input should work. 
    Have you setup an I/O connection between the VC and the Smart Component in Station Logic?
    Best regards,
    Anders Spaak
    ABB Robotics
  • Hello,