RobotStudio event

PLC <--> robotstudio simulation

Options
Hello,

As stated in a other discussion i'm a newbie in the world of ABB robotics and robotstudio.
The concepts are very familiar to me, i only have to learn, how to work with the programs and infrastructure.

For a customers robotcell a combination of siemens PLC (master) and robotstudio (rapid)(slave) is used.
I was wondering is it in some way possible to simulate both product virtually to indetify any problems in software and interface.
This means simulating the PLC on the computer in combination with the robotstudio simulation.

if not already implemented the only way i could imagine is to create a addin module which connects both interfaces together?

any ideas regarding this challange ?

kind regards,
Peter

Comments

• pwpeter
    Options
    thx i will look into it
  • DantasR
    Options
    Hello Peter, I am also a new Robotstudio user, and I am trying to performe the same thing as you, simulate a Siemens PLC (I have the real PLC) together with robotstudio.
    So far I found out in previous discussions an OPC smart component that should help doing it, but so far I didn't manage to make it work.
    If you find a solution, please share it in here and I will do the same.
    Thanks in advance!
  • Pavel Riabichev
    edited January 2016
    Options
    Hello DantasR

Your PLC can only communicate with the virtual controller through OPC, further you can connect I/Os from v.controller to SmartComponents. I don't think you connect a PLC signal directly to a SmartComponents.

/Pavel
  • DantasR
    DantasR
    edited January 2016
    Options
    Hello Pavel,
    Yes, that's right, I was not really clear before.